Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

cna classes

CNA Certification: How It Works in Every State

CNA certification means your state has listed you on its nurse aide registry after you finished a state-approved training program and passed its competency exam: a written or oral test plus a skills test. Federal rules set the minimum at 75 hours of training, including at least 16 hours of supervised practical training, and 27 states require more. A nursing home can’t use you as a nurse aide for more than 4 months unless you’re certified, and it checks the registry before you start. To stay listed, you have to keep working: 24 months in a row without paid nursing work means retraining or retesting.

Every state runs its own registry, picks its own exam vendor and sets its own renewal rules, so start with your state below.

Find CNA classes near you

Find CNA Classes near you.
Becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant is a great path into the medical field. Finding the right CNA classes and training can be a challenge. We’re here to help.

CNA requirements by state

Minimum training hours and the exam vendor in every state, from each state’s own rules and its vendor’s candidate handbook. Click a state for its approved programs, exam details, registry lookup and renewal rules.

State Minimum training hours Exam vendor
Alabama 75 Credentia (NNAAP); ADPH guide also lists Prometric
Alaska 140 Credentia (NNAAP)
Arizona Not stated D&SDT-Headmaster
Arkansas 91 D&SDT-Headmaster
California 160 Set by program: D&SDT-Headmaster, Credentia, or Regional Testing Center
Colorado 75 Credentia (NNAAP)
Connecticut 100 Prometric
Delaware 91 Prometric
Florida 120 (80 classroom + 40 clinical) Prometric
Georgia 85 Credentia (NNAAP)
Hawaii 100 Prometric
Idaho 120 Prometric (written); skills evaluated through the training program
Illinois 120 SIUC Nurse Aide Testing (INACE) for IDPH
Indiana 75 Ivy Tech Community College (for IDOH)
Iowa 75 D&SDT-Headmaster (written); skills at community colleges or Health Tech Associates
Kansas 90 KDADS state test at KDADS test sites (no outside vendor named)
Kentucky 75 KCTCS (D&SDT-Headmaster TMU platform)
Louisiana 80 Prometric or LCTCS college sites (both LDH-approved)
Maine 130 Not stated (no testing company named in official sources)
Maryland 100 Credentia (NNAAP) or D&SDT-Headmaster (both MBON-approved)
Massachusetts 75 D&SDT-Headmaster
Michigan 75 D&SDT-Headmaster
Minnesota 75 D&SDT-Headmaster
Mississippi 75 (federal minimum; no state rule found) D&SDT-Headmaster
Missouri 175 (75 classroom + 100 on-the-job) D&SDT-Headmaster
Montana 75 (federal minimum; no state rule found) D&SDT-Headmaster
Nebraska 75 Not stated (DHHS names no single vendor)
Nevada 75 D&SDT-Headmaster
New Hampshire 100 Excel Testing
New Jersey 90 PSI (written/oral) + D&SDT-Headmaster (skills)
New Mexico 75 D&SDT-Headmaster
New York 100 Prometric
North Carolina 75 (federal minimum; NC rule adopts 42 CFR 483.152) Credentia (NNAAP)
North Dakota 75 D&SDT-Headmaster
Ohio 75 D&SDT-Headmaster
Oklahoma 75 CareerTech Testing Center or D&SDT-Headmaster
Oregon 105 D&SDT-Headmaster
Pennsylvania 80 Credentia (NNAAP)
Rhode Island 120 Credentia (NNAAP)
South Carolina 100 Credentia (NNAAP)
South Dakota 75 D&SDT-Headmaster (knowledge exam); skills by program RN evaluators
Tennessee 75 Credentia (NNAAP), vendor since June 1, 2026 (previously D&SDT-Headmaster)
Texas 100 Prometric
Utah 100 D&SDT-Headmaster (TMU); exam developed by UNAR
Vermont 75 Excel Testing
Virginia 140 Credentia (NNAAP)
Washington 108 Credentia (NNAAP)
West Virginia 120 Professional Healthcare Development (PHD)
Wisconsin 75 D&SDT-Headmaster
Wyoming 75 (federal minimum; no state rule found) D&SDT-Headmaster

More detail by state: training requirements, the exam, renewal and transferring to another state.

Click on your state to find CNA classes near you

What CNAs do

Nursing assistants help residents and patients with daily care such as bathing, dressing, eating and moving, working under a licensed nurse. In nursing homes they are often the main caregivers, and many get to know residents who stay for months or years. In 2025, 36% of nursing assistant jobs were in skilled nursing facilities and 32% in hospitals.

Find CNA Classes near you.
Becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant is a great path into the medical field. Finding the right CNA classes and training can be a challenge. We’re here to help.

How much CNAs make

Nursing assistants earned a median $42,260 a year ($20.32 an hour) in May 2025, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. State medians ranged from $30,510 in Louisiana to $49,830 in Oregon; see CNA salary by state.

Median CNA pay in dollars, May 2025 (BLS)
Nursing assistant jobs, May 2025 (BLS)
Federal minimum training hours
Minimum supervised practical hours

Where to get CNA training

Approved programs run at community and technical colleges, private training schools, nursing homes and other providers; each state publishes its approved list (linked in the requirements guide). In the 2024–25 school year, 499 colleges and schools in the 50 states reported 49,489 nursing assistant awards to the federal IPEDS survey, and many nursing-home and private programs don’t report to it at all.

Training can be free. A nursing home that employs you, or has offered you a job, when you start can’t charge you for the program, and if you’re hired by one within 12 months after you finish, the state must reimburse part of your costs.

Find CNA Classes near you.
Becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant is a great path into the medical field. Finding the right CNA classes and training can be a challenge. We’re here to help.

Keeping your certification

Most states renew every two years and ask you to show paid work as a nurse aide; some also require in-service or continuing-education hours. If you move, you transfer to the new state’s registry. See CNA renewal by state and CNA reciprocity by state.

Let's get started! Find a CNA School near you:

CNA Certification Classes
Looking for CNA Classes in your area?

We partner with the top CNA schools nationwide to bring you the best CNA training. Find schools and get information on the CNA program that’s right for you.

  • Answer a few quick questions
  • See CNA programs near you
  • Free to use

CNA classes online

You can take much of a CNA program’s classroom part online in many states, but the supervised practical training is hands-on, with residents, so every approved program includes in-person hours. See CNA classes online for how hybrid programs work.

Find CNA Classes near you.
Becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant is a great path into the medical field. Finding the right CNA classes and training can be a challenge. We’re here to help.

What are you waiting for? Start CNA Classes now.
Becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant is a great path into the medical field. Finding the right CNA classes and training can be a challenge. We’re here to help.

Your Questions About CNA Classes, Answered

How do I find my CNA certification number?

Look yourself up on your state’s nurse aide registry; each state page links its registry search. Some states also print the number on your certificate or license.

How long does CNA certification last?

It depends on the state: most renew every two years, a few have no renewal application, and in every state 24 months in a row without paid nursing work means retraining or retesting. See renewal by state.

How many times can I take the CNA exam?

Federal rules guarantee at least three tries. States can set a limit, but not lower than that; many require retraining after the third failed attempt. See the exam by state.

Can I use my CNA certification in another state?

Not directly: you transfer onto the new state’s registry. Many states do it without a new exam if your certification is active and clean. See reciprocity by state.

How many hours of training do I need?

At least 75, including 16 hours of supervised practical training, under federal rules; 27 states require more. See requirements by state.

Sources

Last reviewed November 2026.